I Am A Philistine

I am a philistine.

I went to the opera with a friend. I had never been before, but I know that people’s first reaction to opera tends to be one of two things. They either love it instantly or they do not. The second group may learn to appreciate it, but they will never truly love it.

I know this because I have seen “Pretty Woman”.

I am a philistine.

I enjoyed the opera, but it didn’t elicit the tingle – that electric feeling on the back of your neck when you encounter a work of art that excites you on a primal, uncontrollable level.

La Boheme didn’t get the tingle, but the next day, something else did.

The theme song to “Duck Tales”.

I am a philistine.

Leave a Reply

